Visualizing the End

This weekend, I intended to visualize the end of my work life. My job is great, but it is corporate, no mistake about it. Friday was back to back meetings with my boss trying to lighten my mood that he was causing. Monday will be the same thing with a meeting during lunch as well. I won’t miss this stuff.

I wish I could say my retirement is close, but I’m still figuring out how to aggressively save for it. Tonight is about seeing the end and feeling what it feels like to not be constantly going from meeting to meeting and shuffling papers. I know I won’t miss feeling like I can’t make a decision without 30 people being involved. I won’t miss getting up at 5:30 am. I won’t miss that dreadful feeling on Sundays that I need one more day and don’t want to go back to work in the morning. I won’t miss that decision of whether there’s too much snow on the ground to drive in or not. I won’t miss having to choose whether my boss is serious about me working later or not or when my husband is told that he can’t take vacation the days we want. Neither of us will miss this rat race.

How and when are we going to be able to make this happen permanently?!

image

My fellow blogger, Unconfirmed Bachelorette just gave me this calculator to start using. I’m hoping this will be a key to helping me figure out within reason how to go about saving for retirement. I’m looking forward to playing with it this week and in the weeks to come with my husband.

One thought on “Visualizing the End”

Leave a Reply

