Snarky Mother’s Day Love

I was feeling a little snarky today on Facebook where everyone is flooding the internet with the wonderfulness of their moms and unintentionally isolating thousands.  It just seemed appropriate to share here too! Happy Mother’s Day everyone!

I love my Mom.

I don’t need to say that here because she doesn’t waste her time on Facebook, but I’m feeling more sentimental on this Hallmark holiday than normal. 

I love that she’s not on here, even though I wish she was a lot.

I love that she’s always busy because it means she’s active and living her life.

I love how she kisses me on the lips when we visit and this just started happening in the past 5 years.

I love that she speaks candidly to me about everything.

I love that she and Josh get along so well and that she harasses me for not taking care of him better.

I love that she was there for me at every swim meet, every tennis match, every choir concert, every big and small event of my life growing up, every bruised knee, every bad decision, every moment I needed her or not.

I love that no matter where we’ve lived, she’s made it to visit us. She has always told me nothing will stop her from finding me.

I love that her humor and goofiness rubbed off on me.

I love that she knits ridiculous things, like a gun koozie for Josh, and embroiders beautiful things and that she quilts now.

I love that she loves me so much to not let my past bad decisions, that sometimes hurt her deeply, get in the way of our relationship, and she has no problem telling me that my Aunt Becky is the reason our relationship exists the way it does today. So I have to say I love my aunt for that.

I love that she taught me independence and courage and adventurism. It’s easy to do a lot of things, especially travel the world with those characteristics.

I love my mom. I don’t need to tell you here because she’s not on any social media. She’s enjoying her life the way we used to before this time suck existed – by living it. And I am going to do the same today in her honor.

And though she’s not on here for me to prove to you how much I love her by tagging her and making sure the world sees it, I still love her.

I still love her, because trees still make a sound when they fall in the woods and you aren’t there to listen.

Leave a Reply

