MAYBE GREENER PASTURES ARE NOT MYTHOLOGICAL LOCATIONS

So, I am in therapy because I’m having a mental crisis with my corporate life. This might be a mental crisis or some might call it a mid-life crisis. Whatever it is, I needed help to move through it. My hope is that my therapist will help me understand how to get out of the overwhelmed feelings that I am having currently wtih my role.

My first homework assignment was to work on relaxation. She gave me a printout that explained several relaxation techniques that I could apply from meditation, prayer, deep breathing to yoga. For the most part, I was familiar with most of them. I have not applied them yet (as I mentioned in my previous blog – Greener Pastures?). So, right at this very minute, I am taking a step to sign up for the last paid for yoga class that I have in a package.

Homework Assignment 1: Check.

So, my second homework assignment was given to me Tuesday and that was to identify positives throughout the day at work. This was coincidentally the same day that I blogged the above linked Greener Pastures?, but AFTER I posted it. Rather than post all of the positives since then, I thought I would let you ponder that blog a little bit while I work on my own self-discovery. We are making baby steps towards our goals and it is difficult understanding my place in this world. But today, I do feel blessed today because we declared this year the YOTC (Year of the Crandalls) and another piece of that puzzle happened last night. With assistance of our insurance company and a gift from some family, we were able to pay CASH for a truck! CASH PEOPLE!  And we practiced really good negotiation techniques for that truck, so we were able to talk them down about a grand and got a bunch of nibbles that would have cost us around another $1000. (I think Mr. Money Mustache would be proud).

Remember, we just moved into our house in April and did not have any money saved for a new car. We bought this vehicle out of necessity because our perfectly paid for Camry was totaled by a poor doe who did not make it through the accident. Alas, her life did not go unnoticed as she made it possible for us to own a pickup truck and for that, we are thankful (not that animal life is worth a material item – please do not take that the wrong way). We have needed a pickup our entire relationship and even more so since we started up Brass Hammer Designs in 2011. Even though our business has been on hold for a couple of years, Josh is starting to show some interest in the soothing activities and we might start doing more there. This truck will help with that process….. And with our new house as well!

I feel like we grew up a little this week. 1) We took the higher road in our journey out of this rat race and bought a little less of a vehicle than what we wanted, but what would suffice and would also keep us from adding more monthly costs. 2) My car needs to be replaced soon as well and we were tempted by a tight deadline of a friend selling her car to possibly replace it. But we demonstrated maturity by resisting. Even though it has 240,000 miles on it, it is still working. We need more time to save money to replace it and a new rule came about to NOT have a car payment again.

So these are all major things that could be slanted negatively if we let them, but this week, we are opting to look at them all as positives and we are feeling blessed and thankful….

Homework Assignment 2: Check

So, maybe greener pastures are not really mythological locations. And perhaps the journey out of the rat race is showing some light at the end of the tunnel to positively reinforce our goals.

One thought on “MAYBE GREENER PASTURES ARE NOT MYTHOLOGICAL LOCATIONS”

Leave a Reply

