Confession: My Feet Stink

So I have a confession. I do NOT have it all together. My career might look like it from the outside; but on the inside, there are days that I feel completely out of control. Today, was one of those days. Seriously, my feet stunk today. I kept smelling them under my desk and I had my shoes on. My underwire in my bra is biting me right now and I desperately need to buy a new bra, but do not have the money to do it because we’re buying sealant for the deck like we have stock at the hardware store. Don’t even get me started about the cleanliness of our house and the situation in our lawn or under our deck. And, even though I look fit, stress eating definitely rears it’s ugly head many days.

But I do not and should not have any reason to complain. I make a generous salary for the work that I do and I am choosing to live the way that I do with an end goal of early retirement in mind. The problem? I’m stressed and cannot express it in a way that I get much empathy from people because I’m so “well off”.  So I’m going to bitch about my #firstworldproblem here and talk about the reality of it. First, I am not the only person feeling this way. I have so many girlfriends that are fighting these same feelings. We’re all in the same age bracket (Gen X). It’s the same story for all of us – we do not have enough time in the day, we are stressed at work, we question whether work is worth it, traffic adds another common sacrifice of time, we have aging parents, some of us have kids and others of us do not, some of us are married and some of us are not. It’s a common problem. Some of us are more vocal than others about it and are tired of pretending. I’m EXHAUSTED. I can’t find rest even after a long weekend or a relaxing vacation. I forget to breathe deep enough all the time to the point that I get a lump in my throat.  Since I’ve taken on this role, my blood pressure has gone up 10 points! This can’t be good. I have forgotten how to relax!
image

I am so overwhelmed by the thought of getting my act together that I can’t even decide what might help. I’m grasping at straws trying to figure it out. I cannot wait for my therapy appointment on Saturday to talk more about this because it is becoming more and more obvious that I need my appointment this week. I have tried a lot of things lately.

  • Feng Shui
  • Yoga
  • Exercise
  • Massage
  • Outsource chores
  • Eat healthy
  • Take care of your pooches

But possibly, the best outcome was doing a poll of my friends on Facebook of what might help. Here are some of the ideas that they gave me.

I am seriously going to start looking into what I can do more and more and just start doing it. These were great ideas! If you have more, please feel free to share in the comments. I NEED all the ideas that I can get!

2 thoughts on “Confession: My Feet Stink”

    1. Switching names like that… Lol
      Stitch Fix by far is my favorite. I’m trying Amazon some for ordering things, but so far I’m not thrilled with their waste in packaging. I received a huge box for my tiny makeup compact and some mascara You might live in Harris Teeter territory now, so check out their pick up service. My stepsister says it’s a dream!

      Like

Leave a Reply

