Untitled Adventures

Building on my blog Maybe I Don’t Want to Retire from a week and a half ago, I’m starting to wonder if I really want to retire early. I mean, of course, I want to live differently and move on to another phase of life and enjoy a more relaxed life. I commented on “Our Next Life’s” The Anti-Greed Manifesto Blog a few weeks ago, our salary is freedom of time. I want more time.

 

This week, I had LASIK eye surgery and was forced to take Friday off. I ended up relaxing a majority of the weekend and spreading out my chores quite a bit. I was FULLY relaxed. Nothing felt like it was crammed into a few minutes that I had. I had all the time in the world not running around like a chicken with its head cut off. It was nice!

 

I am perplexed though. On one hand, we want to retire. Then on another, my husband and I are talking about a HUGE opportunity that I have with my company. It’s the potential of reporting to someone very high in the company and being in charge of the food safety verification program for ALL imports related to the company. I was called out in a meeting of higher up managers that I was the only person in the room qualified and the more that I think about the job, the more excited I get. Does this sound like someone that is ready to retire early? I am so confused.

 

So what are our main reasons to want to retire early? I’ve mentioned before about in my blog, The Trailing, GenX Husband, that we want off the train of trying to fit into this world. Every time we talk about my husband finding a meaningful career, we can’t find any. For the first time ever, he was able to put on a job application that a big reason for his job history is my career moves. He put together a very good application, so we’re hopeful it will get him noticed. In the meantime, I’m planning on meeting with the hiring manager of the other position to determine if it is a fit for me. I have a vision of what I expect it to be like and I am hopeful that we can compare notes on it.

 

Until then, I’m still trying to figure out my journey out of the rat race. At this time, it’s about timing. A reasonable timeline that I have been telling myself was 10 years (making us close to 50 years old). If we can do it earlier, it would have to be over something that we both feel supremely passionate about. My text to my husband today was, “I don’t think I’ll be ready until you’re passionate about a plan. You don’t seem passionate yet because we haven’t identified a secure way.” We’ll still be looking for the answers….. Comments welcome! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Untitled Adventures”

  1. You have a lot of time to plan if you are still 10 years away from your goal of 50. That was our goal – retire by 50 – and now we are just 4 months away from our date. You do need to find out what you are “supremely passionate about” to get there, but a lot of your passions will change & develop over the next decade. For now, make your financial goals primary. Building your career will help your finances. Developing your retired lifestyle plan can be your secondary goal for now.

    Like

  2. It’s great that you’re so in tune with your thought process. The good thing about early retirement is there’s no expiration date — so if you’re excited about another role at work right now, great! Take that role! You’ll know when you’re ready (or not) to retire early. And I love the advice from Ernie Zelinski — make sure you have something to retire *to.* Until that future vision is so exciting to you that you want to scrap all the rest, then keep doing what you’re doing now, and keep working. 🙂

    Like

    1. Absolutely. I couldn’t agree more. One of the former VPs in my department always used to say to “Keep the end in mind.” Our “end” is retirement, but each step that we take is related to that goal ultimately. This potential job is a once in a lifetime career move basically and could mean a huge break in money. That ultimately will help with the retirement plan as it will most likely mean a very good raise.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

