Dear Corporate America

Dear Corporate America,

You broke my husband. He is a good man. He is a smart, wise and funny man. Yet, you have no faith in him. I do not know why or fully understand, but you slowly broke his spirit.

Today, my husband took a leap of faith trusting that I am steering him right by telling him that I am okay if he wants to resign from his current job. I do not believe he resigned yet, but he decided to not renew his gaming license because he is quitting before it needs renewed. I am proud of him, but he is broken.

The Universe knew this was coming this week and already loaded its email to me.

Jen, it’s not possible to significantly change your life, for better or for worse, by manipulating the material world. Not by working harder, not by studying longer, not by schmoozing, not by sweating, not by fasting, not by the hair of your chinny chin chin.

But great change is inescapable when you first begin manipulating the world of your thoughts.

Thinking of you,
    The Universe

I asked my husband if this letter was addressed to him, what would he feel it meant. He said “very metaphysical and accurate.” I asked him if it helped him feel empowered with his thoughts and he said, “Not at all.  I feel broken, mentally weak and incapable.”

He received his bachelor’s degree 6 years ago and it has done nothing to help him advance in his career. We’re faced with the debt of that decision and yet again, we’re trying to find his path to a great career. Where do you start? Why are there no resources? Is he destined to the fate of a 39 year old white guy that made some bad choices when he was a kid? Why are some destined to succeed in this corporate world and others are diminished? Why is no one else noticing this?

It is sad and ridiculous that good people cannot find meaningful work. I know I am a biased wife, but as a “good Corporate American woman”, I know the potential my husband has and I hate that the expectation of this Corporate American world is breaking his spirit. Aren’t you at all curious why GenX couples want to leave the workforce earlier? Why wouldn’t we want to?!  It does not appear that you care at all. In fact, it appears that you are more interested in the Millennial generation anyway. You cater your sales to them and your studies towards them.

Needless to say, we are feeling very neglected. And as soon as we can, we’ll be parting ways with you.

Sincerely,

A GenX Couple

3 thoughts on “Dear Corporate America”

  1. I’ve worked successfully in Corp America for 25+ years. I’m getting ready to retire early @ 49 in 2016. Some people just seem to “fit” better in Corp life than others. To succeed, one needs to subjugate quite a bit of your personality and not be too outspoken. At the same time you need to subtly self-promote and get known for something successful. It’s a tricky balance and few companies will do a lot to help younger employees negotiate the waters.

    Like

    1. Yes, I agree it is tricky. At this stage of our lives, we are trying to decide what the next step should be for maximum benefit to us. We’re both turning 40 this year and tackling the corporate world is becoming harder and harder for him. Meanwhile, I’m moving and shaking things.

      I keep saying that they are not interested in a 39 year old white guy that hasn’t gotten on his feet yet. It is probably generalized to say that, but it feels that way much of the time. He’s been trying for 6 years to find his place in the world. He is a GenX Trailing Husband and we have come to the realization of what that sacrifice actually means. Some days, it means he is broken. I’m hopeful that when he quits, he’ll be able to take time to identify what he wants from this life and we can tackle it together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

