What Really Matters?

It is the weekend after New Year’s. It’s when a lot of people cross over to the new year and reflect on what they are going to change for the next year and might even boldly start taking action. I have, in likewise fashion, started my list of “goals” instead of “resolutions.” I like to set goals instead of resolutions because I am more likely to accomplish some or all of them that way.

Each year, I define categories or areas to focus on for the year. My goals usually include career, health, spiritual and relationships. This year, I decided instead that I will define my WANTS for the year instead of goals or resolutions to try to increase the chances of me accomplishing them.

A few weeks ago, I blogged about Goals & Expectations 2016. Somehow I ventured down the path of defining an overall theme of “control what you can control”. But, the Universe has guided me more towards “take what you want because it is already yours.” So, that’s where my theme of the year is coming from instead.

Just because you can have it all, Jen, doesn’t mean there’s something wrong with you until you do.

To the contrary, it means you’re smoking on fire, destined for greatness, exactly where you should be, with thoughts that become things, in a dream of your own creation, about to blast off as you become who you are meant to be.

Don’t you see, Jen, you couldn’t get it if you already had it. And it’s the “getting of it” that you really want, in an adventure that can only begin with wanting what you do not yet have.

Tally Ho,
The Universe

Without further ado, here are my goals for 2016 – my defined wants to take because I already have them:

  • Have Fun & Make Lots of Memories
  • To feel in control of my own path
  • To help others and make a difference
  • To feel in balance with schedule and relationships
  • To support Josh with fun, encouragement and consistency
  • Minimal debt (mortgage & student loan only and eventually no student loan)
  • To steal a quote from my yogi friend, Katy, “Be Happy, Be Healthy, Be Loved”

Now, there are a ton more details that I have listed in all of the corresponding categories, but all of them are themed to meet these 7 main wants in my life.

So, I encourage you, if you have not already, think about what changes you want in your life and do not just make a resolution this year to break by February. Think about what you can do that will actually make a difference in your daily life and help get you to the life you want to live faster.

Until next time, I’ll be over here figuring out my way out of this rat race.

 

Leave a Reply

